Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. with this statement?

Critics of the quality of televisions shows these days argue that more educational programming related to key social issues is needed. In my opinion, though there are legitimate reasons to support such reforms, I believe television should be mainly for entertainment. Those in goodness of raising awareness of social problems claim that television is not currently serving a socially viable purpose. The most popular shows are dramas, comedies, and reality TV, all of which are purely for entertainment. If the time wasted on such shows was diverted towards educational programs, this would have a ripple effect on society at large. For example, more informed news shows about underprivileged segments of society could lead to outpourings of empathy and encourage a nuanced understanding of the causes of poverty. This greater awareness would translate to real action in many cases. Powerful figures and small activists alike could contribute to socially beneficial causes. Nonetheless, the actual impact of the proposed changes is questionable and most people do not watch TV out of altruism. Raising awareness of social issues, depending on how it is handled and the self-righteousness of the programs, is just as likely to provoke a negative backlash and hinder progress. Moreover, people watch TV in order to relax and let their minds rest or to experience a feeling of excitement. Forcing viewers to think about complex societal problems would simply discourage them and they would instead watch videos on YouTube or Netflix. It would be impossible to regulate all media and there would be public uproar at the attempt. In conclusion, though it would be ideal for television to inform citizens of social problems, this solution is not practical. Individuals will always seek out the pastimes that entertain, not educate, them the most.