Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While there is a wide range of programs on TV, entertaining ones always outnumber other types of TV programs. This is obviously the reflection of viewers’ preferences. However, including educative skits about social ills in these entertainment programs undermines the inherent quality of these programs. Firstly, entertainment programs, as their name suggests, exist to entertain people. With the growing competition from the internet and other streaming websites, TV is struggling to retain its viewers, so they offer various entertainment programs. Most people, however, watch them because they are already tired of problems. After a busy working day, people come home to relax, not to worry about issues that exist in their society. While I concede that it is possible to reach out to millions of people with a subtle message about, say, a recent corruption incident, too much of this kind of communication undermines the inherent quality of these programs, which is to entertain people. Another reason why entertaining shows should not pursue such intention is the lack of depth and expert knowledge they can offer about social problems. Entertainers try to offer their solutions and opinions about social issues, but they often end up scratching the surface of the matter or totally twisting it so that they fit it with their political beliefs. For this reason, I think entertainment programs should continue to entertain people, and programs that are created for the purpose of educating people often appeal to people who want to learn about social problems, where they can see the discourse set-up by people who know what they are talking about. In conclusion, there are already enough programs to educate people about social problems and entertainment shows lose their intrinsic purpose if they try to educate people. For these reasons, I completely disagree with those who contend that TV programs should educate their viewers about problems in society. I wrote it in 39 minutes, 15 minutes of which I spent planning the essay. I ended up spending too much time on making an outline.