In poorer families, school children may have to work part-time as well as study. Discuss the merits and demerits for these children.

It has been observed that the juveniles, who belong to financially weaker segments of the society, on most occasions, find themselves in a situation where they need to divide their time between academics and earning money. This situation of despair may have some hidden advantages, which along with the obvious demerits of it, will be discussed in the narrative ahead. Acquisition of real world experience and development of mature behaviour are the two invaluable merits that hide themselves under the garb of anguish these children have to go through while they juggle time between work and studies. First, when these children employ themselves with odd jobs they get to understand the practicalities involved in a particular job. This experience can prove to be invaluable for them when they grow up. Second, they get to witness the hardships of life at a very tender age. The fact that a child needs to take care of the part which is taken care of for most other children their age, they grow up quickly and develop a sense of mature behaviour. Again a sure shot criteria for success The demerits of this situation are more or less in the face. The need for money to take care of the basics necessities of life can discourage and de-motivate a child for the rest of their lives, It can lead a young person into the state of acute depression and other psychological issues. For example, as per recorded data it has been proven that kids from economically weaker section of the society form a major part of reported child depression cases. Another clear disadvantage for these children is that their education suffers. The want to make money eventually becomes an unavoidable need for these children and somewhere down the line learning becomes secondary for them. To sum up, the cons for these broods are pretty much known and accepted facts of the society. However, if things turnout well for a few deserving ones, the merits of it, as mentioned above, can literally turn around the life of the individual concerned.