More and more newspapers and news channels are using photographs to support their news articles and stories. Some people think photographs are not a reliable source of news while others consider photographs to be irrefutable. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

There is increasing number of media houses use photographs to validate their news stories. Although some people think that photographs are not a vital source of information, others believe that their role in disseminating news is indispensable. This essay will intend to analyse the both views along with my perspective. On the one hand, some people reckon that photographs are not a valid source of news for the simple reason that they can be doctored. The trend of Photoshop and Multimedia is increasing day by day. A morphed image looks original but that is not the case. For instance, survey conducted by FBI, they stated more than 50% people use the edited photos in newspaper. Therefore, the argument that photos are not a valid source of information certainly holds some water. On the other hand, others believe that consider photographs to be irrefutable. Writing a news with persons’s image will definitely attract more readers as well. For instance, an image of popular female celebrity endorsing diamond necklace will attract more female viewership to the jewelery brand that is being advertised. For example, an article published in ‘the times of India’, it stated that the number of readers is increasing day by day by printing photographs on articles. Thus, more interest will be generated in the newspaper or a media channel as well. To sum up, it is true that people have different views. However, I believe that news stories are indispensable as they facilitate easy understanding among readers.