Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

It is believed that advertisements succeeded in making others purchase what is being advertised, while others think that people don’t pay attention to these advertisements due to the fact they are found everywhere. In my opinion, there are benefits to what advertisements provide but having too much of it can make the viewer uninterested. Companies that put out advertisements understand the needs of their viewers and so, they target specific people who they know will buy them. When a person watches an ad on tv or the internet, they are looking for the best offers they can find of a specific product. Once that product is found, the viewer immediately decides to purchase it. For example, in America there are lots of advertisements targeted towards individuals with medical conditions who need a certain type of drug. The companies then compete and provide advertisements showing why each of them has the best version of that drug. Thus, customers will choose what suits them best and make the purchase. On the other hand, the abundance of advertisements seen everywhere can be too much for some people and causes them to lose interest in what they see, even if what is being advertised is of importance. YouTube, for instance, allows companies to use their platform to advertise what they have to offer. Whenever someone watches a video, they see three to four ads in one video, annoying the viewer. Because of this the viewer skips the ad without taking the time to see the offer. In conclusion, even though advertisements play a large role in providing what the public needs to buy, companies are putting out too many of them annoying the viewers and in turn the public stops paying attention to them.