some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally agreed that advertisement makes people buy unnecessary things. However, I am inclined to believe that it is mandatory to know new products in the market which can influence our lives. In this essay, I will justify my opinion using relevant supporting evidence and examples. One way to support my viewpoint is that a lot of new products that will ease our life and cater to our daily needs are coming to the market. The advertisement for such products will make us more aware of their benefits which will lead to the right call to either buy or not. For example, if I want to buy a certain product, I will start searching for it using different options like google or enquiring friends, but if I see an advertisement for the product, my search will be much easier. Another way to justify my opinion is that, when we first see a product in the market, without seeing an advertisement before, we mostly won’t tend to buy it. That is, many people do not like to try new things. On the contrast, if you have seen an advertisement of a product several times, you will automatically become familiar with it and you will want to try it and see how it works. However, mass advertising can lead to people paying attention to things they don’t care about. They contaminate people minds and make them buy thing that are unnecessary to them, because they have been convinced that it will make them happier or successful etc… In conclusion, although there are some arguments against advertisement, as outlines briefly above, I believe these are outweighed by the arguments in favor. Ultimately, every person has his own scale of values.