Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

There is no doubt that the number of products is consitently increasing in our market. While a number of buyer may think that advertisement initiates the exessive buying behaviour, I would argue that it provides more information to buyers so they would know which items can enhance their lives. It is evidently that new innovations are discovered each day thanks to the ever developing technolgy which results in more convenience products being provided to our society. For instance, as Apple and Samsung have introduced their new phone models in their annual press conference, their new inventions such as FaceID has made unlocking the phone in the winter become an effortess process while users do not have to remove their gloves. And without advertisement, it could be very challenging for buyers to know which is the last model with new functions and how would they distinguish themselves from the previous phones. In addition, advertisementplays an important role in enhancing the competition of the free market. International brands such as Microsoft, Sony or Nintendo are obviously globally well-known thanks to advertising promotion. Not only do people have more options to buy video games console ranging from Xbox, Playstation or Nintento Switch, video games company also utilise such competitive market to produce cross-gen games that people can play among their various platform. While this enables sellers to bring their products to different markets, buyers have more options and their purchases would come with a more competitive prices. In conclusion, although it is undeniably true that some company may consider avertising as an abusive means to sell unnecessary products, promotional activies is crucial to maintain a diversity and competitive open market which directly beneficial to buyers and sellers. In my view, advertising is a great tool to introduce and highlight new and innovative items to enhance our life.