Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

In todays technology oriented world, almost all of the business to customer firms have started multiple sources of advertisement to sell their products. While few people believe that advertisement really helps a customer as well as a firm in selling something good and important that eventually improves our life, other believes that because of these advertisements, people tend to buy useless products most of the times. With this era of technology, a new product has become really simple. Not only television and radio, almost all of the firms have now started using internet as source of advertisements. Companies are now using social media websites like facebook, twitter to advertise their products. Since the browsing data is also shared with many analytics firms, customers now see these advertisements in many other websites as well. Advertisement has helped many international firms in selling their products that are essential to customers. For example, in India, a customer will not find any automatic wheat grinder easily in the market on the contrary there are chances that a customer come access a new advertisement related to the same product from an international seller. These advertisements provides sale and discount information to the customers. For example, a customer can see an advertisement in television or in any social media website about an ongoing sale and can get an essential product in a better price. This helps both customer in buying an essential product in a much lower price and helps the firms in clearing their inventory. Sometimes, there is a possibility that a customer can start observing a similar advertisement from multiple sellers on different websites. Many firms believe that it's a human tendency to buy a product after watching similar advertisement everywhere. Various big tech giants like Google and Facebook understands this and therefore these days, these websites have started providing a feature to customers to decide what they want to see. A customer can update the settings in case if customer wants to see less advertisements. Sharing data across websites allows a customer to see advertisement about a product which barely wants to buy. This is also fixable as a customer can now control what data to share across websites. On the conclusion, I would like to add that even though there are few drawbacks of advertisements, these drawbacks do not outweigh the benefits. I believe that advertisement helps a customer in deciding what to buy next and also provides information about running discounts and sales and thus it is necessary for a company or firm to advertise about their products.