Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Few people assert that advertisements stimulate to purchase the things which we actually do not require while others believe that commercials help us to get knowledge about new products and their use. I opine that advertisements attract us towards the products by showing deceiving information. The paramount purpose of advertisement is marketing of the product by showing the true information. Nowadays, most tv commercials, pamphlets, hoardings try to attract people by color-full graphics and vibrant visuals. The production companies portrait their products in commercials in such a way that people get to know only the merits of the product. Sometimes organizations make false commitments about the result of the product and make people purchase it, for instance, one of the well known cosmetics company deceive people by promising fair skin tone after using their cream. That company was sued by one of its customers for making false assurances in television commercials. It is quite evident that these days technology is developing so fast and companies are launching new products and devices everyday. Advertisement is the only mode to get knowledge about these devices and their use in our lives, to exemplify, various electronics devices such as Alexa which can convert our home into smart home comes to our knowledge via commercials and advertisements only. On contrary, we also come across few products online or on television commercials which appear to be quite reliable and convenient, consequently, we end up purchasing the products which we actually don't require. To recapitulate, advertisements are the only way we get to know about several products but it is undeniable that we get convinced by the content of commercials and spend on the items which are of no benefit for us.