Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertising is a form of marketing strategy that brings awareness about new products. While some individuals might disapprove of adverts with a reason that it encourages towards impulsive shopping, there are many who are in favour of acquiring knowledge through advertisements, as it provides valuable information about new products that are launched in the consumer market, thereby assisting customers in making choices suitable to their needs. In my opinion advertisements are essential to enhance consumer knowledge about new objects and enhance their living standards. Advertising benefits the consumers or buyers to make appropriate choices, especially when most of the people are occupied with busy schedules, advertisements assist them in getting aware of the accurate products according to their needs. This inturn, cuts on the extra time which would be possibly spent in market research by many. For instance, a new mother would not be aware of what kind of instant baby food types or formula milk are suitable according to her infant’s age and nutritional needs. However, when she familiarizes herself with the market range, through varied media like advertisements on TV, social media platforms, media channels or even brochures from various supermarkets, it would be uncomplicated and effortless. And these ads would suffice her with product knowledge and facilitate her, while she spends the minimal shopping time she would find, while being handful. Moreover, Advertisements curtail customers or buyers from impulsive or nonessential buying. But how is this possible? People these days are inclined towards fashion. If a product can provide multiple functions it would be beneficial than buying 2 different products for the same purpose. Advertising helps here. For example, the hairstyling product range of some brands like Philips, have a hair styling curling rod that can be used for the dual purpose of hair curling and hair straightening, and this product is marketed with an advertisement which depicts a girl getting dressed in two separate types of attires for dissimilar occasions with two varied types of hairstyles, yet using the single hairstyling equipment. Nor would it cost them extra money as a penny saved is a penny earned. In conclusion, If advertising is comprehended well and researched, it accentuates the appropriate products and helps consumers in saving both time and money and not buy unrequired or non-essential products when they go for shopping. 388 words