Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

A faction of society believes that advertisements trick consumers into buying things that they do not require while another faction believes that advertising is primarily helping consumers to upgrade their lives by providing solutions. This essay will discuss the latter viewpoint at length. The prime focus of any advertisement is to create awareness of a particular product or service and how it brings value and relevance to the life of the consumer. For instance, Apply iPhones is built on the belief of "Ease". Making life easier with the help of an iPhone. They are pioneers of promoting voice-activated tasks to be done on your iPhone which is simplifying the life of a user. Additionally, the advertisements also help the consumer make the right purchase decision. For example, in the case of choosing the right investments policy where it's a fixed-term investment, especially when it's a long term investment. Policybazaar advertisements promoted and made people aware of the varied policies that can be viewed, compared and bought in one place by oneself instead of reaching out to middlemen. In my experience, I have benefited from these product/service commercials. One time, I wanted to acquire this laptop with a particular specification however, it was not available in the offline stores and I had to place an order with that offline store at an extra charge to fetch it from the United States of America. Right then I came across the Flipkart and Amazon commercials of Diwali sale. Since these mega commerce channels run their sale at the same time, it became even easier to check the sale prices on both the websites, evaluate the best price and buy it online by customizing the laptop with my specifications. Hence, to recapitulate, product/service advertisements have been helping the consumer make the right decisions to improve their lives by adding value and providing solutions.