Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisement plays a significant role in today's world. It influences wide range of people and also has bought powers in favourable to consumers. Young people are more influenced through advertisement and tend to spend a lot on products which are of no use. The raise in technology has taken advertisement in to whole new level. But we need to consider if advertisements have positive impacts in people's lives. Both arguments have validity but personally, I would lean towards the former. Earlier we were not aware about different products that were available in market so we tend to keep are needs and wants at minimal. Therefore people lived a life with containment than those at present. Less advertisements platforms helped the previous generations, not to compete with others in society. They lived a life with satisfaction even with less products they owned. Younger generations, specially those who are at their teens are negatively influenced by the advertisements due to the large use of modern technologies. These people tend to live a dissatisfied life since their wants are never ending. Some repeated advertisements are said to create wants that we do not really need. For instance if a young boy uses a apple iphone6 he wishes to upgrade to iphone7 by the advertisements. It also creates tension and pressure among the society and leaves no choice other than buying the product. To conclude, Advertisements has increased the consumer knowledge on availability of new products at market. However I strongly agree that it has also increased the stress and pressure to buy goods that people, precisely has of no use. It has also increased the wants of individuals which tends them to buy luxury products, by eventually ending up in debts.