Before an important exam, do you think it is better to prepare for a long time or only for a few days? Give examples and reasons to support your argument

Last moment preparation for exams has been advocated by many people. I believe it is not an effective approach and one, should be ready weeks before a test. This essay will discuss how organized study helps in improving an individual’s learning of a subject and also the psychological impact of it with relevant examples to support my points. There is ample evidence indicating the proficiency of a language is directly proportional to number of hours that an individual caters to learn it. The central reason for this is two-fold, firstly, it helps to retain increased information over longer duration. This aids in recollecting the same while being tested on it. Secondly, chronic reading and learning helps in identifying areas of weakness much before the deadline. Handling weaknesses is crucial in gaining expertise in any course. To illustrate this, a HBS research report outlines that, 60% of IELTS enthusiasts get a same score for at least 3 times before seeing an increase. The primary reason is due to late realization on the areas of growth. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that having a study plan not only helps in getting a better score but also helps in increasing an individual’s prowess in that particular course.