Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

The role of commercial advertisements is widely debated nowadays, with some people claiming that it indeed encourages us to buy more unnecessary stuff and others say that advertisements inform us about the new products. Personally, I feel that advertising is a way of marketing and makes us spend more money on the things that we don't need. Firstly, randomly poped-up advertisements can greatly affect how young people shop. Advertisements often show up when we watch TV, Youtube or even listening to radios. Most of the time, we cannot control the ads to pop up and we do not have the option to skip them. We are forced to listen/ watch it even the products they are introducing is not something we need. Youngsters are often encouraged to buy more stuff that they do not need because most of the young people do not have a proper financial plan and their buying decision sometimes might not be logical enough. On the other hand, advertisements is one of the marketing strategies when a company introducing a new product or want to boost sales. The companies often collect and analyze their customer-base data to target the platforms, age group and location. Most people noticed that if you search for something online, the other social media platforms will automatically show similar products. For example, when I searched for earrings on Google and if I go to Youtube or Instagram or Facebook, there will be different ads about earrings. I think this is a business strategy and it is a way of making you spend more. Finally, the products from commercial advertisements sometimes are too good to be true. The ads on TV often use an exaggerated way to describe the benefits of the products, however, they often don't say what are the downside or disadvantage of the good. They usually use a strong and attractive phrase or hire a famous actor/ signer to promote the products as well. So I think the companies are delivering a false image of their products and trying to make more sales. I do appreciate some people think differently, saying that advertisements tell us about the new products that can improve our lives. While getting to know a new product is good, but I feel that knowing a product through ads is not logical enough and some researches on the product might present a better way. Overall, I believe that advertisements encouraged people to buy more unnecessary stuff that we don't need. Ads can confuse how youngsters spend money, promote similar products by analyzing data and hide the downside of the products.