Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertising plays a pivotal role in influencing the purchasing decision of a consumers buying behaviour. Where on one hand some believe it leads us to buying needless things, on the other hand, a few believe advertising educates us about new products that may positively impact our lives. This essay will argue whether advertising draws us towards unnecessary products or it keeps us updated about new products that could be beneficial to us. In today’s world advertising has taken over our lives significantly; such that it persuades us to buy even those products that are not essential to us. While, modern advertising targets the emotional quotient, it also tries to lure consumers by way of attaining monetary gains out of it. For instance, after looking at an ‘End of Season Sale’ advertisement a person decided to go shopping and buy two particular things that were required, but on seeing the discounts on variety of other things went ahead and added four more products to the cart. Therefore, advertising makes people impulsively buy many products that may not currently require. Advertising is an effective means of communication through which consumers can be well informed about the latest products available. They contain all the information to help a buyer to make sound buying decisions. It helps them to compare and differentiate between two or more similar products. For Example, an individual is planning to buy a washing machine; it is because of advertisements that they can compare the features, functions and pricing of the various models available and make the most appropriate purchase. Hence, advertising is very helpful while making purchase decisions. This essay argued why some people think advertisements make us take hasty purchase decisions whereas some others think that it might enhance lives by keeping them well informed about new products. In my opinion advertising is an extremely important tool of communication in today’s times which helps us improve our quality of life.