Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Advertisement is a tool that helps consumers to identify a product or service. It is a way of sharing a story about them or their services. History shows that storytelling had been a part of human evolution. Companies and brands have been using this since the idea of consumerism have been established. In my opinion, advertisements paint a clear picture about merchandises that are available in the market for buyers. Today we see advertisements on various platforms like print media, radio, television, internet and social media. There are myriad formats of advertisements like commercials, posters, banners, hoarding, radio jingles, online ads, etc. I personally love short commercials which tell us a story. The recent Dove commercial which reflects women empowerment is a brilliant ad campaign. They shared stories of different women from different walks of life across the globe and never did they mention their product except at the end. The ad was a success as it was an awareness project which ditched the old idea of beauty and that women in today’s world is capable of doing any work. Similarly, another ad which caught my attention was Coca-Cola promoting its “Avengers” cans launched during the release of the new “Avengers” movie. It simply talked about its new product using the recent trend. Another great Indian campaign was “A drop of life” on polio drops, which turned out pivotal in putting India on the map of the polio free nations. In conclusion, I would like to say advertisement is a beautiful art that helps us to know about different things around us and we always have a choice to make the right decision for ourselves regarding a purchase. We really cannot blame it on advertisements.