Some people say that a gap year between school and university is good idea, while others disagree.

The popularity of gap year has risen significantly especially during last decade, so is the controversy related to this. As the benefits of taking an year off are hard to quantify, it is considered to be unnecessary but opposers recommend this highly. Both these will be analyzed prior reaching a relevant verdict. Taking a gap year is boon for students because with this, they have an year long break from their monotonous study schedule. After this gap, they can choose the subject very carefully and easily, which they have immense interest in. Moreover, they, not only, can learn more interpersonal skills like time management, self dependence and so on, but also they can increase their traveling and thinking experience. They can gain knowledge about nature of different persons, any other nation's culture, any place and many other fields during travelling. For instance, a survey carried out by BBC, England shows that 40% learners are more successful in their own life, who took a year gap between their secondary and tertiary schooling. However, some people think that a gap year during study is a method of wastage of student's previous time and money. They can spend their time and money on their further studies. When they spend Abigail chunk of money on travelling, they would face extra financial burden during their tertiary education. Also their concentration deviates towards amusement and they cannot pay attention towards their studies. Last but not the least, during travelling, safety issue is matter of grave concern. Given the above mentioned information, it can be concluded that although taking a gap year has a plethora of benefits, according to my mind, the disadvantages are more significant than advantageous.