. Which one is the most significant invention in the last century? Aeroplane, antibiotics or computer?

During the last century, the world has experienced revolutionary developments in the way people live their lives, thanks to an array of innovations of modern science, from computing and aviation to medicines and treatment. In my opinion, of all these wonders of science, computers are what have played the most pivotal role in contributing to virtually every aspect of human life. There are a myriad of arguments in favour of computers as the most significant invention. The most conspicuous one is that by using computer, the Internet, numerous software and other such equipment, not only can teachers make lesson plans effectively, but students can also enhance their knowledge and broaden their horizons with much ease, convenience and efficacy. Besides, with the Internet being an indispensable part in computer, people no longer feel detached or segregated from the ever-changing world, irrespective of their geographical locations. Facebook, twitter are example of social networking sites people use today in an effort to keep abreast with others, be it in their personal, social or professional life. Another overt facet of computer is that thanks to its performance and contribution to such sectors as transport, health care, scientific research, weather forecast and what not, computer has greatly reduced human involvement. Apparently, less human involvement means that the likelihood of making errors in these crucial areas has also declined. Hence, there is no doubt that the improved efficiency, effective management and comfortable life we enjoy today can primarily be attributed to computer, an extraordinary innovation that any other achievement of modern science is no match for. In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that nothing is comparable to computer. This is because never has any single invention of science benefited mankind in so many ways as computer has.