Some people say sport has an important role in society. However, others say that it is nothing more than a leisure activity.

Some people believe that sport has changed dramatically due to advances in technology and media, becoming far more commercial and disconnected from society. 1, however, think it still has an important part to play in connecting countries in the cultural and political scenes. In the past, many ordinary people could identify themselves with sports and became motivated to engage in sports themselves. Albeit, this is no longer the case for the majority, who spend their free time on weekends, watching football matches with friends. According to some, nowadays there is too much coverage of sports on TV, aiming for higher view warships figures. It has fallen victim to advertisements from sponsors, thus becoming too commercial and has lost its original purpose for existence. It was a common belief watching sports on TV would encourage young people to be more physically active. Nevertheless, nowadays more youngsters are more eager to compete on game controllers than on a real pitch. If anything, watching their favourite athletes in play discourages them further because what professionals can do seems almost impossible for amateurs. Although I recognize the arguments given above, I still think the sport has more to offer than simply being a fee-time activity, For one thing, huge sports events such as the World Cup and the Olympics tend to draw people from different backgrounds, promoting cultural unity between countries. Apart from contributing to the tourism of the host country, it also relieves tensions between political states. The most recent World Cup event held in Russia, for instance, helped to improve the country's political image in the world. As a result, some of the economic sanctions have been lifted. Relieving economic and political tensions for the Russian government. After Visiting the World Cup host country, most people and also changed their minds about preconceived stereotypes about Russian people and their culture. In conclusion, watching sports programs on TV has indeed become more of a leisure activity. Though, global sports events still play an important role in promoting cultural unity and relieving political tensions.