Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A variety of subjects are taught in school; however, there is no agreement among people about which subject is the most important, History or others such as Science and Technology. Some people say schools should focus on Science and Technology. They think since technology is an inseparable part of our lives and it has put us at ease in different aspects, it may be beneficial to society if children learn it more seriously in school. This prepares them to become inventors helping the world with innovations. This group of people also think that science courses taught in schools are vital because future scientists can emerge faster within students, helping our generation with creating pharmaceuticals, for example, to cure medical diseases. Having said that, History is more widely considered as one of the most essential-to-learn subjects. Flicking through pages of our ancestor’s life not only help students to know from where they come, but it also can broaden their horizons in social, economic and political matters. When students learn from historical mistakes and how ancient civilizations dealt with difficulties and challenges they faced in all situations, they less likely repeat similar mistakes their ancestors made. These knowledgeable and wise students will become wise leaders of tomorrow who will not allow resources, time and money, of a nation waste by not repeating the same mistakes made in the past. In conclusion, although the significance of Technology and Science as academic subjects in school is cannot be ignored, I agree with those concerned people who believe History is more important. If we do not learn from previous generations, even technology and science may not be used in an effective way.