Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reducing the amount of money spent on public transport system as well as lowering the rates of tickets of the public transport will largely assist in decreasing the transport pollution. I strongly disagree with the statement. Eliminating a basic need such as travelling will not necessarily decrease the pollution burden. Firstly, poor people who rely on government transport will be greatly affected. lowering the investment on transports will result in less maintenance of the vehicle and reduction in their numbers. As a result common people who use these mode of transport to travel to their job will find it very difficult. An alternative method, for example investing correctly on vehicles which is ecofriendly will help in reducing pollution formed from vehicles rather than decreasing the investments on public vehicles. Second common problem will be unemployment. Eliminating funds on transports and minimizing the ticket fare may indirectly decrease the wages of workers who works in transport sector. For instance driver of the bus, whose only source of income is by driving will have a strong negative impact. This will affect their quality of life in many ways. To conclude, though reducing pollution by minimizing the investment on travelling vehicles seems a great idea consequences following the implementation of such acts must be analyzed first.