Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Once a wise man quoted whatever one may study, it never go waste. Many people believe that the subject of history is of utmost importance in school curriculum, whereas others consider that subjects that delineates science and technology must be preferred over history, nowadays. While I am of the opinion that both the subjects should be given equal importance, professional derive inspiration from history and people get to know of their past; however, the development of an economy is dependent on its science and technology, and it generates revenue for the government. Studying history has always been proving advantageous to the researchers and professionals. As the COVID pandemic began spreading across the globe, the governments worldwide decide to lockdowns their economies, the very idea of which was borrowed from the similar incident when plague began to spread in 1920s. Similarly, the judicial system of any nation delivers judgements based on its precedents i. e. its previous judgements in a case of similar nature. The study of history offers people to dive into the past and get to know what it offered to their ancestors and early man. It provides an insights into how the modern societies are formed from clans of early man residing in forests and their survival against the odds and wars led by other humans or nature. Therefore, the study of History should form a significant part of present-day school curriculum. Moreover, science and technology are the future of an economy which helps an economy to develop and earn. Undoubtedly, a nation which is scientifically advanced will prosper, for instance, the UK, the USA, the Soviet Union insisted on the development of their research, science and technology, consequently these nations are well developed and considered as the world leaders now. In addition, the advancement in technology and science leads to new inventions which are often sought after by the other nations. The new technology once patented, proves to be a commercial success to the inventor and the nation, as it garners revenue to the inventor and government seeks royalty, such as development tax, against such revenues. Thus the study of science and technology is a win-win situation for all and that everybody benefits from it. In conclusion, it is apparent that both the subject have only advantages to offer. During early days of Pandemic, the experiences from the history were utilised to initially curb the virus; whereas science and technology aided to the destruction of virus. Therefore, I am of the view that history, and science and technology must go hand-in-hand as removal of any particular subject may harm the curricular and overall development of the nation.