some people say art is good while others say it is waste of time

Art, as a subject in schools, has been a subject of discussion among many people. While some believe that it should be compulsory part of school curriculum, others contend that including art in school syllabus is inconsequential for pupils. I believe this branch of study should be offered as an elective subject to students. In the defense of art and craft, people opine that it facilitates pupils to exhibit their potential aptitude and strengthen their creative skills as students have to imagine and devise something from scratch. By this, not only can they improve their concentration, but can develop their intellectual level also. These abilities assist them in other practical subjects, such as science and mathematics, where they need to contemplate and solve intricate problems; therefore it should be the mandatory part of class. People who believe that art is nothing but wastage of time contend that learners have enough burdens of studies on them. Introducing a new subject that can affect their grades can stress their already exhausted minds. In fact, not all the students are interested in arts; some cannot even draw a line properly. It will sabotage their confidence when they will see other students outperforming them. For example, a tutee, inclined towards language has nothing to do with drawing and painting. In my opinion, art should be elective for students. Ones who have the aptitude in this subject can include it in their curriculum whereas others can elect other subjects that they are interested in. In this way, they can perform exceptionally without stressing about their grades. To conclude, I reiterate that schools and parents should not impose a subject on children that they do not want to study; therefore, I believe a student should be free to choose whether they want to study art or not. (301 words)