E-mail has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive. Do the disadvantages of using e-mail outweigh the advantages?

It is irrefutable that advanced technology is rising at unprecedented rate. One of the common features is Email which is still impacting our communication in both social and professional manner. However, I still believe that it does not have serious drawbacks which can overcome its benefits. E-mail is the cheapest and a fastest way to communicate. In other words, it comes with a minimal cost and can be done all around the time which is most suitable for international interactions, which would despite be expensive in calls or messages. Consequently, this has helped in building relationships globally in professional or social context which could be helpful for majority of people. For instance: Many businessmen in order to find the prospects related to the expansion of their businesses can directly mail to the concerned person without travelling at a nominal cost. Moreover, it also helps in avoiding the hesitation to communicate directly in certain situations like presenting opinions or complaints in a most formal way. On the other hand, it has some disadvantages. Firstly, it may hamper the communication as most people may choose not to respond in some specific circumstances which could be vital both socially and professionally. For example: One of the illustration that could be cited in this case is the response to questionnaires send through emails which individuals may avoid, however, it could be essential to derive some important information. Furthermore, there are some individuals who are not fully equipped in using the technology and may find it difficult to write an email which could again be a hurdle to communicate. To conclude, I would concede that although writing an email could be a difficult task for some and people may be ignorant towards responding to email messages, however, its excessive usage has obviously benefitted us for expeditious and economical form of communication.