Some people rely too much on doctors instead of taking care of their own health. They think all health problems can just be fixed by visiting doctors. What problems could this approach to healthcare cause and how might it be solved?

Many people claim that it’s the job of the doctors to “solve” all the problems related to personal care. But sometimes it’s forgotten that some health problems are the consequence of a wrong behaviour. That’s to say that people, instead of preventing problems, entrust on the capacity of doctors to solve them and if it didn’t happen, the blame would be on doctors. To start with, society by the years, has developed the common thought that if we have a problem, without reflecting too much, we go to a doctor. Obviously it’s correct understanding which is the problem, and going to experts to be aware of it. But it’s wrong to think that specialists couldn’t make mistakes or to think that it all depends on the doctor's skill. For example sometimes it happens that doctors diagnose an incorrect pathology, so suggesting a wrong care or for other factors, the life of a patient could be compromised. Subsequently several people start to think that the doctor is unable to do that work, compromising the career of a valiant doctor. This problem might be solved with a broader view of the problem and with the awareness of the doctors’ responsibilities. It’s necessary to underline that the work itself of a doctor implies huge responsibilities; however sometimes also the patient has his responsibilities. To give an example, there are some diseases more relevant in individuals who smoke. It’s to say that diseases like lung or lip cancer are in proportion to people who are addicted to smoking. Even if diseases and cancers could not always be prevented, sometimes a lot of them are the result of a human's attitude. All things considered, it’s important to not undervalue the work of a doctor and his responsibilities. In addition, people must be aware of their own actions and try to prevent every kind of illness, of which cancer it’s just an example.