Some people think sport is important to society. Others, however, feel it is nothing more than a leisure activity.

Many people believe that sport is significant in our social life whereas others judge it just a leisure activity. In this essay, I will discuss both notions and give my own view. On the one hand, sport plays an essential role to society. First of all, people may be provided a means to an end. This is because with the innate talent in sport, they could be trained and have an opportunity to become a professional athlete who might earn enormous salaries. For example, Vietnamese professional football players could gain advertisement contracts with hundreds of millions income after participating in a vital competition. Secondly, people would form a good habit from playing a sport. With the rapid advancement of development in modern life, young people are unlikely to resist the temptation to play video games or live in a virtual world which would cause a lot of detrimental habits so that parents could motivate their children to engage in sport activities. Thanks to this action, children would be exposed to friends and realistic life to grow comprehensively. On the other hand, it is argued that sport is nothing more than a leisure activity. Firstly, residents apparently count it as a measure to relax and entertain after working or studying because not everyone has the ability to become professional sport players. Hence, they would just play sports when they have spare time or want to do something for a change. In addition, many companies might organize sports activities for their employees after a miserable long-working stage. As a result, they would be unwinded and reduced stress then return to work more effectively. In conclusion, I think both opinions have their own appropriate reasons. Personally, I believe that sport is very important in our lives, not only helps people relax and keep a balance but also brings a main income for some people.