Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

These days, more and more children are playing computer games. While some people believe that this activity is the cause of some problems, others argue that it has a variety of benefits, such as education. From my perspective, there are more advantages than drawbacks, as I will outline below. There are a number of advantages of playing computer games. One of the most obvious of these is that computer games are a cheap and safe way for people to relax. For example, gamer can join in an online game from the comfort of their own home, and do not need to go out and spend money in malls or bars to relax. Another reason why video games are beneficial is because they can be educational. In particular, gamer can learn a lot of computer skills. However, there are some drawbacks to playing video games. Firstly, it is not uncommon for people to become addicted to the virtual world. The result of this is that they may not have a healthy diet, sleep enough or do enough exercise. Secondly, people who play video games regularly may neglect their studies or jobs because they are more interested in the game than their real-life responsibilities. Ultimately, as with many topics, there are both positives and negatives. Although there are some drawbacks of video games, I believe that there are more advantages for society. If people can find the correct balance between the real world and the virtual world, then video games can be a useful educational and social tool.