Some people regard students should being allowed to use smartphones as a learning tool during the lesson. Others, however, believe that it is harming student learning in the classroom. What is your opinion?

The proliferation of technology has enabled the usage of cell phones to pervade every aspect of life, particularly in effective teaching and learning. However, that whether this digital tool should be permitted in the class or not remains a source of controversy. Although smartphone plays a crucial role in learning to some extent, I believe that this exerts many unfavorable repercussions. For a variety of reasons, having easy access to a mobile phone during class make it easier for students to lose focus. Given the fact that cell phones provide many temptations which make students will immediately start using these devices when they lose interest in the lesson and look at the cell phone as an outlet of distraction. Research from BBC news found that American pupils check their phone every 12 minutes and with smartphones functionating as their alarm clock, appointment keepers, and even house keys. When students break their concentration to another purpose in the class, the learning process will be disrupted, leading to missing the main point in the lessons and poor academic results in the latter. By removing the distraction of mobile phones, teens can learn more effectively without disturbing their attention and gain optimal knowledge in the class. Moreover, addiction and health problems might be the price that people had to pay if they let children use the cell phone in class. Students, utterly, might be captivated by various content on the Internet. As a result, instead of enjoying physical activities in break time or intervals between classes, children gravitate toward playing games on their mobile phones. Aside from being too engrossed in games, high-frequency cell phone users are more likely to forgo being physically active to use their cell phones for sedentary activities such as using Facebook, Twitter, video games, and surfing the Internet. This presumably may result in some health-related issues such as being short-sighted and obesity which are the key factors behind the harmful effects on the developing bodies and minds of teenagers. In conclusion, due to the distraction and addition of the mobile phone, I think that smartphones should not be allowed to use while on school premises.