Write an essay about advantages and disadvantages of Vietnam being a member of ASEAN

ASEAN stands for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations and it was formed on August 8, 1967. ASEAN now consists of ten member states and Vietnam is one of them. This essay will discuss the advantages as well as difficulties of Vietnam as a member of ASEAN. On the one hand, there are various benefits when Vietnam becomes a part of ASEAN. Firstly, as an agricultural country, Vietnam is currently a major source of manufactured goods in the world with main export items such as rice, rubber, coffee, and so on. Secondly, joining ASEAN is Vietnam's first international economic integration step and the basis for Vietnam to promote its policy of international economic integration. In addition, it helps Vietnam's economic relations with partner countries expand, creating a basis for Vietnam to integrate economically and politically at different levels. On the other hand, besides the opportunities, there are still some challenges that Vietnam has to face when participating in ASEAN. One of Vietnam's biggest difficulties is the disparity in socio-economic development compared to other member countries. However, during the time of joining ASEAN, the gap between us and other member countries has improved and narrowed significantly thanks to the efforts of Vietnam. Next is the difference in political institutions as well as in language, which has caused many difficulties for Vietnam to integrate with other countries. All in all, joining ASEAN brings a lot of advantages but also some disadvantages to Viet Nam. I suggest that Viet Nam should find appropriate measures to further promote these strengths as well as limit the negative aspects.