Why more people are being self-employed these days and what are the disadvantages for being self-employed?

In present days, there is a growing interest among people relating to working on their own rather than working for other businesses. This essay will explore two possible cases behind this trend and discuss the drawbacks of being self-employed. In this day and age, the technology has provided us with more convenience than we ever had in the past. As a result, people can work from home more comfortably. For instance, in the past a teacher had to rent a place and take care of every requirement before even start teaching. But now he or she can just record the classes from home and deliver it to the students directly with no extra hassle. Another driving force behind being self-employed would be the true feeling of autonomy. In general, people do not like to report to someone for their every step. This is because everyone wants to be free. For example, someone who is working in a corporation has to follow all the rules and regulations to work there including maintaining a good reputation. However, a lot of people would simply prefer to work on their own rather than jumping through hoops to get a promotion. Although the trend of being self-employed is quite intriguing, it comes with its own shortcomings. It is highly likely that those who are working for themselves have a fixed monthly income, while working for a business is at least provides with a sense of security that the employee will receive his salary so long as he keeps working and giving his best to the work. Another example would be the lack of health insurance and recreational facilities that a company offers to an employee which someone who is self-employed will not be given as an incentive. In conclusion, despite the satisfaction that someone gets for working for themselves, still, the drawbacks cannot be ignored.