Some people prefer famous brands of clothing, cars, and other items. What are the reasons. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern day, a large number of people have been more inclined towards purchasing items from famous brands. From my perspective, there are myriads of reasons behind this trend and I believe the drawbacks overwhelm the merits in this statement. First and foremost, one of contributing factors to the tendency of using famous brand names is social acceptance. This is to say that social status and appearance are mainly assessed through luxury brand names when a person's wealth is reflected through possessions. Furthermore, these brands also invest a considerable amount of fundings on advertisements in order to modify the consumer's mindset within many years. With the success of marketing campaigns, well-known trade name producers are ingrained in the subconscious of people of all ages. Additionally, unique and up-to-date designs are also crucial to increase the number of customers. Overall, this trend can bring more negative aspects than positive ones. The major disadvantage is that local brands face many challenges to compete with globally recognised trade names which have become more and more monopolistic. Hence, in the long term, citizens find it hard to buy commodities at lower cost because competitiveness no longer exists in the joint market. On the other hand, countries with well-known brand names are more likely to have a strong and prosperous economy. This can be exemplified by the fact that giants, such as Microsoft and Intel r, have helped the USA's economy both maintain high growth and hold the top rank in the world since the 20th century. In conclusion, the inclination of consuming products from famous brand names stems from the belief involved in social status as well as appearance. Although the benefits of this problem are relatively apparent, I am convinced that the influence of big corporations will be disadvantageous for many local brands and consumers