Some people make new friends on social sites and Internet chat rooms. Some people think it is a good thing. Some people think it is better to make friends face to face.

People talk to others over social networking sites and develop friendship with them. In my opinion, it is a good thing as it helps in creating bigger network and greater availability of friends than face to face circle but there are disadvantages too. Firstly, You get to know people of different fields on the Internet and by making them friends, you add diversity to your friend’s circle; because, in person, you generally meet folks of your related fields only. When your friends works in different departments, you gain basic knowledge of their services too, and this can be beneficial sometime, for instance, in case of recession in one field you may ask your friends to refer you in their organization. Secondly, meeting friends over Skype or another social channel is hassle free, as it does not require to travel or visit anywhere and you can see your friends whenever you want, without visiting them personally. Admittedly, Networking sites have proven harmful too sometime. Sometimes people do friendship with strangers and then they start sharing their every detail with them, such people blackmails them sometimes and may demand money, Honeytrap is one example of such type of friendship so one should be very careful before sharing any confidential data with unknown folks over social media. In contrary, when you make friends after meeting them personally, there are chances of great bond between people as people easily understand each other opinions when your talk is not virtual. In conclusion, it is good to make friends over social networking sites, but we should be very careful while choosing whom to talk and what to share.