Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

With the advancement of technologies such as smartphones and the Internet, people spend a lot of time on social media. Though some people believe in making friends only after a personal interaction, I strongly support the idea of making friends online since it is not only more convenient but also helps develop friendships with people from diverse backgrounds. Firstly, social sites are beneficial for many people to make new friends not only in one’s own country but also from abroad. This helps in knowing a foreign culture through conversation with friends. Similarly, it helps a person who have has an introvert personality because he does not mix easily with other people when he meets them face to face. For instance, these sites provide chat rooms as well as video call or voice call to avoid face-to-face conversations. He can use only messenger or chat room for conversation with a new friend. Secondly, nowadays, by making new friends all over the world homemakers are establishing their business worldwide and it helps a lot in becoming financially strong. For example, these online websites provide business pages for spreading business everywhere which can help not only the businessmen but also in the national economy In conclusion, making friends on social media is an excellent way to network and gain insights about various cultures and countries. It is a convenient way to resolve international and inter-cultural conflicts, and create a sustainable society. It is not harmful if we would use some features such as block the person when we feel a threat of some kind.