Some people like to travel outside their country. Others would rather travel to tourist spots in their own country first, before travelling abroad. Which do you prefer to do and why? Include specific details and examples to support your choice.

In the modern age, travel becomes more prevailing both domestically and internationally. Some people pursue having a holiday overseas. However, another group of people strongly opposed to this and tend to book tickets for indigenous trips. Personally, I suppose that domestic travel should initially take precedence over foreign travel. First of all, a mounting number of people find it difficult to have a vacation abroad when they are in emergency situations. Therefore, taking a trip in motherland helps them be able to deal with problems easily because the don't need to face to the language barrier and geography or even waste a lot of time, money to tackle circumstances. For example, if people are lost, especially they are not familiar with territory in there, they can't probably know what they have to do or how to get a help from the natives. Seriously, there are many people suffering from culture shock on account of the cultural difference. In addition, people’s knowledge of their own countries and culture is still in low level. This is largely because foreign brands, television shows and cultural objects flooding local markets. For example, The Asian Cultural Society found that Japanese teenagers knew more about the American television series than 19th Century Japanese woodcuts. It should therefore be clear that citizens need to know much more about their own culture and traditions before others. Finally, local tourism would greatly help to boost our own economy since tourists generally pump enormous amount of money into the local economy they visit. Hence, it is obviously a better option to uplift our own economy first. From those above points, it can be concluded that both local and international excursions have their own pros and cons, and to select one among them is a personal choice, which depends on the circumstances of an individual. However, in my opinion, considering the benefits the local tourism brings to their own nation, domestic tourism must be encouraged.