Some people hold the view that old people should live with their family after they retire until they die. Other people think that old people should live in a retirement home or community with other people of their age.

Whether elderly should live with their family from the time they are taking retirement until they die or not remains controversial. Some people claim that they would better live with their family, while others contend that living in a retirement home or community with their peers. In my opinion, I believe that they would live better with their family than live in a retirement home. There are many reasons why those who support old people should live with their family. First of all, when people become ageing, they prefer spending time with their descendants. This will help them to be closer with their relatives and will experience a higher level of happiness. To illustrate an example, when living with their family, elderly people will be more happy and comfortable due to contact with their immediate family members. Moreover, their relatives will take care of them more dedicatedly than the others. Lastly, while ageing care providers have better training and knowledge in regard to health concerns, they don’t generate the same level of trust and affections as family members. Because of that, family support is very important. However, others are of the opinion that it is better for the old people living in a retirement home or community with their peers. Firstly, people think that those at the same age will much more easily share their interests with each other. Because of that, they will be more happy to live with those who are the same age as them. Furthermore, many people believe that elderly need special care, especially when they get sick but they do not have enough time to look after them. Thus, living in a retirement home or in a community will be more convenient for them to be cared for by skillful aging care providers. In conclusion, although there are still some advantages of living in a retirement home or in a community with their peers, for the reasons I have mentioned above, it seems evident that living with family is better.