some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Several people become debtors by purchasing unwanted and expensive things which are beyond their financial status. Reason being easy access to credit cards and this can be checked by financial institutions by controlling the issuance and repayment on credit cards. Due to the heedless distribution of credit cards by banks, majority of the people have credit cards and this leads them to do thoughtless shopping. Having access to credit cards make people to buy things which are not required at that moment. Lots of people purchase items on impulse whether it is necessary or not, especially when it is an item that is trending. For instance, people just want to buy the latest phones even when they have functional phones, and they do not mind becoming debtors after such purchases. This type of behavior can be ruled out by the financial companies by taking different measures before issuing a debit card and also at the time of repayment. Both government and private financial sectors should follow strict rules ad regulations before the allotment of smart cards. These companies should check the financial background of people and their credibility to make repayment without any problem later, companies should be very particular at the time of taking back the money from their customers. All in all, a majority of people are not shying away from becoming debtors, by making costly and unnecessary purchases. The reason for this can be the possession of plastic-money. Which they can pay later. To avoid people from doing mindless shopping banks should impose strict rules on the smart card distribution and its repayment.