Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals.

Nowadays, many people believe that the young generation should follow their nation’s culture, while others argue that they should have the right to make their own choice. In response to this statement, the essay will elaborate on both sides of this phenomenon to maintain that choosing an absolute stance will undermine the complexity of the problem at hand. On the one hand, traditions play an integral part in people’s life due to the fact that it remembers where they are from and have a sense of belonging. Celebrating the Tet holiday and Moon festival in Vietnam are forms of traditions which usually associated with delicious foods, arts, traditional clothing, and family reunion. In terms of culture, these traditional norms make Vietnam distinct from the other one. Thus, it is important for young people to follow these traditional norms to identify where they belong to. On the other hand, youngsters should be allowed to behave on their own owing to the fact that some parts of traditions are totally wrong and they are caused a lot of problems for people. For instance, in some countries, a widow must raise her children without remarriage if her husband passed away; however, it is considered a lack of a moral right for the women. Thus, in many circumstances, youth should have the right to make their own choice even though the decision is against traditions. In conclusion, this essay has maintained an impartial stance due to the byzantine nature of the issue: on the one hand, the young generation should follow these traditions due to culture preservation; on the other hand, they should act freely to solve some personal problems.