With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

# 1. Introduction **1. 1. Background statement (= Paraphrasing)** Over the last few decades globalized world's dependence on fossil fuel has increased dramatically. Due to oil depletion in old fields along with the enhanced demand, it's being suggested that untapped resources should be explored. **1. 2. Thesis statement (=answer, introduction to my idea)** This essay will argue why the exploitation of new areas is not a sensible thing to do in the long-term and we should turn our attention to renewable energy. # 2. Supporting paragraph 1 **2. 1. Topic sentence (A)** First and foremost, allowing access to more resources is not the solution to alleviating the energy problem per se. **2. 2 Explanation** Indubitably, exploring unextracted resources will let mitigate the increased demand and curb the skyrocket in energy price. However, extremely cheap energy leads to its wasteful using and postpones implementation of energy efficiency technologies which help reduce energy consumption whilst maintaing a comparable or higher level of service. **2. 3. Example** For example, Germany has managed to decrease its energy intensity almost twice thanks to the energy efficiency program initiated by the Government, the ban for inland oil and gas drilling, and shifting to clean renewable energy resourses in order to reduce global warming. # 3. Supporting paragraph 2 **3. 1. Topic sentence (B)** Yes, carbon-based fuels cause climate change and it's an existential challenge for our planet. It's senseless to take a big risk when there's spectrum of alternative renewable energy source available. **3. 2 Explanation** With the development of the technologies, wind energy, solar and biomass are getting more and more widespread. Rebuilding the energy industry across the board allowing for renewable energy might sound daunting. **3. 3. Example** However, Britain has achivied significant results and reduced its carbon emissions by 45% since 1990 by replacing its coal-fired and gas power stations with offshore windmills. # 4. Conclusion In conclusion, I believe that we should come towards an understanding of our responsibility to climate change and stop turning a blind eye to global warming and put much effort to preserve our fragile planet from irreversible damage and devastation of unthinkable proportions. We could be more vociferous in our demands and call for the government to allocate more money to advancing energy-efficiency technology and restrict investments in traditional energy sectors.