Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Since the distant past, designing of buildings has been an important issue in both big and small cities. There has been a controversial discussion about who deserve the right to determine the big details of each building designing. Some people believe that the owner of any planned building has the absolute freedom to design and decorate it without any interference. However, others feel that governments should control this process starting from scratch until the final product. I personally think that this process should be a cooperative one undertaken by the relevant authorities and those who finance the project. Owners of any building presumably invest huge amount of their own funds, starting from getting all the permissions, recruiting different companies, purchasing the raw materials and escorting the whole project over several years. These actions undoubtedly give the owners the right to plan and freely design their own property. On the other hand, if the projectors were absolutely free to design their buildings without any limitation, cities would not look as beautiful as we have nowadays. Moreover, while the owners look only at their single building, municipalities pay attention to the general view of the city. Thus, the process of designing should be coordinated between the involved sides. To conclude, I truly am of the opinion that designing of any building has to be regulated by governments since they have the overall view and can guarantee a coordinated and fine appearance of all the buildings inside the city. Albeit, owners should still have the right to design their building within the standards.