Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that we space programs should continue no matter what the cost.

There is varied opinion among society when it comes to huge budgets that are dedicated towards space exploration every year. While some believe that the intergalactic research is a cause of diminishing returns, others believe that the space exploration is the need of the hour and should not be stopped in wake of massive expenditures. This essay will discuss both point of view before giving a reasoned conclusion. The opponents of space exploration argue that the dividends are far less compared to the investment. According to these people, space exploration is not only expensive but also does not have any direct implications towards the welfare of the society. Instead of sending robots in space, the needs of the human beings on earth should be prioritized. Therefore, the governments can allocate sizable proportion of space funding towards various projects like education and provision of clean water which can help societies to flourish. On the other hand, the space programs need to continue as our future depends on it. Apart from rapid climatic changes due to over population and high carbon footprint, the depleting resources on earth have prompted scientist to explore space in order to find planets which can support life. To be able to continue research for alternative planets, it is important that space exploration is given proper focus and funding by the communities. In conclusion, while it is understandable that the exploration of space is not cheap, it is also crucial to ensure the survival of mankind, it is arguably the single most important investment that we could possibly make, it is the representative of our future and will secure it.