Nowadays plastic money replacements such as debit and credit cards are extremely popular. Even more that banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Include your personal opinion and examples based on your own experience.

It is undeniable that nowadays, use of plastic cards are significantly grown than the paper based currency in regular financial treads. Pros of this trend are it is secure and ease to use. Whereas the cons of this phenomenon are overspending and paying additional charges. On the positive side, Primarily, Since all kinds of money cards are secured with personal identification number. Thus, there is no misuse of card by somebody else unless he knows your pin. there is no risk of money getting stolen by theft. Secondly, It is convenient to use and carry. Instead of carrying multiple physical banknote in our wallet, having these cards is quite comfortable. Addition to it, No need of counting cash every time at billing counter as sometime, due to human error, we may pay extra notes. For instance, People who travel abroad frequently for their business, not required to exchange their physical cash to convert it as per destination country. Instead they use their digital cards for expenses in abroad. On the negative side, Unknowingly cardholder may overspend. The reason behind it is psychology of the user. While purchasing, cardholders are not really exchanging or counting money. Therefore, they do not really get feel of spending. To add to it, These cards come with extra costs such as yearly service fee, transaction charges and start-up fee, which is quite sizable amount. To conclude, there are positive and negative aspect of utilizing financial cards over banknotes, However, downside of it is negligible against the benefits it provide.