Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

According to some people boarding school is a beneficial opportunity for young children while others disagree citing multiple issues. This essay will explore both opinions and try to reach a conclusion For a long time boarding schools have been associated with either world-class elite education or solving the problem of disobedient children. Many people choose to send their young ones to boarding school in hopes that it will shape their child to be a better person as a whole. They believe that boarding schools not only provide an opportunity for the students to excel in class without distractions but rather provide an atmosphere where the child can learn the important social skills like communication and confidence while living on campus. It is no news to anyone that boarding schools are very strict when it comes down to rules and regulations so, it attracts those parents who feel that they have lost control over their child and an institutional intervention is necessary. In contrast, some individuals believe that boarding schools cause a strain in familial relations. By this they mean that when a child attends boarding school they are deprived of parental affection and guidance causing them to have resentful feelings towards their parents for putting them through such agony. They also say that boarding schools can astray some young adolescent minds citing that due to the child being away from the watchful eyes of a parent, can be peer pressured into trying gateway drugs like cannabis and cocaine in turn probably leading to exact opposite of what the parents wanted for the child. In Conclusion, boarding school provides an excellent opportunity for young minds to develop their intellectual and social skills however, it is of great importance that parents have regular contact with their offspring in ensure healthy development and to prevent the harbouring of resentful feelings.