‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. ’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

Global poverty rates are increasing drastically and as the population increase these figures are projected to elevate accordingly. In my opinion I believe that it maybe a good idea to implement a fixed proportion of income to be donated to charity. It has been widely observed that in countries like Sweden and Norway where the government provides a basic income to every resident, the poverty rates are much lower than countries like United States where homelessness and poverty is a major socio-economic dilemma. If governments start enforcing a given percentage of income that needs to be donated to a charity or organization of choice, the overall percentage of people living under the line of poverty and suffering not only from economical instability but rather marginalization would reduce greatly. These acts of kindness and generosity would rather benefit society substantially because the rates of crime would go down as people would no longer have to steal in order to feed their family and it would create a safer society for all. It may be of concern that by supporting people who are under line of poverty it might discourage them from attaining employment opportunities and make them completely depend on the social system but that seems not to be the case when organizations use proceeds of such donations to create employment training programs and other learning opportunities where these individuals are taught how to better themselves socially as well as economically. In conclusion, It may be beneficial to enforce a minimum percentage of income that needs to be donated in order support the under privileged individuals of the society and it would benefit everyone in the end by creating a better socio-economic system. However, charitable organizations should be transparent with the expenditure of the proceeds which would perhaps reduce donation hesitancy.