Some people do not directly go to college but travel or work for a short time

In recent years, it is true that the tendency to take a gap year to experience working and traveling to different places in lieu of enrolling in university or college. This could lead to several consequences, in this essay, I will weigh up the pros and cons of this growing trend, then state my final verdict. To begin with, taking a short rest to do other jobs rather than attend college could be of great benefit to young people, especially those who have burnt out after the national exam. This time will offer them enough time to consider the best path to follow in the future. In many western countries, students have been taking a gap year to spend time on themselves while reflecting on the journey they have gone so far before fully prepared for college life lying ahead. This really prevents them from getting disoriented and they could choose the appropriate courses of study for them. Furthermore, they will get a lot of experience and necessary skills during this time since they could learn, go, and do whatever they have been yearning for. Having acquired skills and experience, they will become more independent and reliable, thus making it easier for them to integrate themselves with the new environment. However beneficial this period seems to be, opting for study later than a year or so could have its undeniable shortcomings. Students who are learning a year later than their peers are definitely graduate later than the previously graduated one. Therefore, while other students already landed a job for themselves, the gap-year students still have to study with their juniors. Another point worth mentioning is that the new freshman will find it difficult to keep up with the increasingly high level of education. This is because their studying process was interrupted while spending time on irrelevant-to-study things. So they have to revise the forgotten knowledge, while still having to attend lectures and finish their thesis. Consequently, those newcomers will get overwhelmed and demotivated. Last but not least, taking a gap year before attending universities is not applied to every student. Provided that one student does not go to university but gets trained in vocational classes to get a job as soon as possible, this period of relaxing is worthless and counter-productive since it impedes him or her from getting employed early. To recapitulate, though the idea of taking a gap year to gather experience may be interesting and suitable for a group of students, I am of the opinion that students should go to college after graduating from high school since it is more appropriate for the fast-paced lifestyle in the modern world.