Some people claim that television is the root of all evil, while others think of television as a best friend. What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching TV?

Many people believe that television is the cause of negative things, while others think that television has a lot of good things and consider television as a friend. Although, television has many benefits to help us entertain and learn new knowledge through news channels. However, television also has negative effects that make people lead a sedentary lifestyle and affect health. Firstly, television has many benefits such as helping us to absorb knowledge more passively, it can be said that TV is a place with many useful sources of information and knowledge. For example, daily news channels such as BBC News, Fox News, CNN news, help us update new news in the world quickly, in addition, it can also help us to know more knowledge new every day. In addition, TV also helps us entertain, relieve stress with comedy programs or game shows and it helps to develop a special bond between family members. On the other hand, television also has some disadvantages such as watching too much television, making us lazy to exercise, adversely affecting our health. For example, according to a study, watching TV 3 hours a day is too much, but watching too much, therefore, it is certainly very harmful to health, children will be less obedient, prone to insomnia, and students who watch a lot of TV often have low academic achievement in school. Secondly, watching TV wastes our time, some people spend 2 hours a day watching TV, while in those 2 hours we can do a lot of things. In conclusion, the advantage of watching TV is that it helps us to be entertained and learn more new things. But watching too much TV brings many bad effects to health, study as well as work.