Some people claim that not enough of wastes from homes is recycled They say that that only way to increase recycling for governments to make it a legal requirement

Most people are aware that recycling is the best way to preserve our environment, however very few people exert the effort to do so. The pertinent question is what can make people to recycle their wastes appropriately? I completely agree that forming strict rules and regulations pertaining to waste management can result into efficient recycling and preserve our natural habitats. Firstly, most people have ignored the damage that has already happened to our environment due to illegal dumping, burning of wastes and too much use of plastic. At the same time, we continue to mass produce plastic which does not decompose quickly. Due to lack of recycling, a lot of plastic is ending up in landfills which need to be stopped. A strict law can change the public attitude of irresponsible dumping and encourage reuse of such non bio-degradable substances. Secondly, rules imposing monetary fines have been proven to be successful for keeping cities clean. For instance, the city-state of Singapore has imposed fines on spitting, illegal dumping and even eating chewing gums. The result speaks for itself; putting Singapore as one of the cleanest cities on earth. This illustrates the role of law and monetary fines in inculcating public discipline; which is required to deal with the problem of global warming and protecting our environment. Lastly, all other measures like campaigns and awareness programs have failed to show the improvements. Despite of government’s campaigns, celebrity shows and messages on social media conveying the importance of recycling; there are many who still do not segregate wastes into degradable and non-degradable bins. When nothing else seems to work to encourage recycling, stricter rules & regulations can be imposed as a last resort to mandate recycling. Although, such laws could be challenging to implement initially, the ultimate goal of such protection is to safe guard the health of future generations. In conclusion, it has been high time for us to react together as a society, as inappropriate dumping has caused enough damage to our land and the oceans. It is imperative, that governments consider stringent measures and introduce laws to protect the environment.