: Nowadays it is not important for people to have regular family meals together.

Having meals with families has long been an indispensible part of most people' s life and is usually recognized as an essential way to strengthen family bonding. However, the ever-rising stress of either study or work has made it less likely for family members to enjoy meals every day, which brings about a heated discussion: Whether it' s necessary for one to do this regularly? While some may firmly believe its necessity, I would argue that these regular meals do not have to be required for the following reasons. To begin with, tightening family bonding, the major purpose of such family meals, could be much more easily and much better achieved through other modern methods. One concern of reducing such meals is that family members will lack opportunities to stay close to each other. However, the rapid development of high-tech products and numerous social networking websites have made it possible for us to contact the beloved family whenever and wherever. Plus, it seems that such meals bring people closer; however, it usually goes the other way around, which is, people tend to eat more and talk less at the table. Then how could they become closer under such a circumstance? For example, Chinese family members have witnessed and fully enjoyed the convenience brought by modern technologies. After graduation, children often seek better career chances in remote areas, even thousands of miles from home. However, family members are not alienated at all 猜词互动 the various super user-friendly social software, the most famous of which is named WeChat, the Chinese answer to Facebook. Various Chinese families set up group chats and share happiness and sorrows in their Moment. Most Chinese mothers prefer to post daily meals there, which is often humorously commented by their children. If it was at the table, the atmosphere is hard to be as relaxing as online. Besides, taking family meals regularly will unconsciously bring much potential inconvenience to the members. For those who have work or are students, they may take pop-up tasks with usually close deadlines. However, influenced by the traditional value of most cultures, other family members may look at these ones with reproach. Nonetheless, it is unfair to put the blame on the busy members in that filial piety is never defined as " having meals regularly with your family" . Instead, as is discussed above, there are much more ways to show one' s care and attention towards family groups. Apart from this, another drawback lies in the undeniable fact that it is often the cooks themselves who wash most of the dishes after the meal. Thus the preparation and the cleaning work results in exhaustion of the cook. Another case could clearly illustrate my point. At dawn, you could easily find parents or grandparents line up in different vegetable market to purchase the most fresh vegetable, meat, and fruit. One common reason for their early getting up is that their children will come back for dinner and a family-style cuisine seems to be indispensible, one less concerned part being how busy the children are. They spend two to three hours chopping the meat, cutting the vegetable and the fruit, etc. After the meal, out of parental love, elder members frequently wash the dishes by themselves and ask the young to watch TV or enjoy other entertainment. Thus a seemingly harmonious family gathering indeed bother people' s life to different degree. Admittedly, I am not saying that regular family meals are without advantages, because family members could physically see and talk with each other, which contributes to deeper understanding. However, the prevalent video chat could also easily achieve this aim, even if it is not physically face to face. Plus, with the developing transportation, people could easily visit each other when both have time, so lack of face-to-face connection should never be considered an obstacle. Furthermore, as family members, they have stayed together for a long time, thus they should already have a deep understanding of each other. Also, talking with each other, either when cooking or eating, may bring possible danger, such as splitting the boiling oil or biting one' s tongue. In a nutshell, my viewpoint is that despite the easy-to-replace advantages, people does not necessarily have regular family meals. For one thing, they could enhance family bonding through better modern ways, such as through the Internet. For another, such meals will bring inconvenience to different family members.