Some people claim that not enough of waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recyling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

İt has been considered by some that people are not recycling their waste enough. Furthermore, they believe that introducing laws is the only way to increase recycling. In my opinion, introducing laws for this purpose is an efficient but not the only way because there are other methods that are needed to attain this goal. Regulation has always been an effective way for governments to manage the public and this method can be applied to recycling too. If governments make this a regal requirement, public will have to obey this rule for not getting punished by governments in the end. Fear of punishment have always encouraged communities and with this way people will be more eager to recycle. For example, if the government of Turkey had not introduced a new law that makes poshettes cost money, people would have bought so many of them free of charge and this would have affected the environment in a detrimental way. On the other hand, I do not believe that making it a legal requirement will result as an absolute success, because this method needs to be supported with other approaches. For instance, if academic curriculum includes subjects about environmental problems people’s awareness level will be raised and as a result, they will be motivated to recycle more. Furthermore, governments should promote campaigns which are dedicated to inform the public about recycling issues. To illustrate, there has always been a rule that punishes people who commited violent crimes against woman in Turkey but this regulation was not able to stop those crimes. With the raise of people’s awareness level with the campaigns, crime rates decreased immensely. To conclude, the regulation process is a necessary factor for the purpose of increasing recycling but this goal can not be achieved without the cooperation with the other methods such as education and investings in the campaings.