Some people claim, that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say, that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

I think there are some more effective ways to make people do something than making it a legal requirement. As a lawyer I know that people always find a way to bypass a law. Therefore, in my opinion, recycling can be increased more effectively by raising awareness about its benefits or giving people some incentives. The one major reason why people do not recycle their waste could be that they do not realize the purpose of such action. If the government provides more information about how recycling can positively impact the environment around us, I am sure, more and more people would understand the importance of recycling and will be more willing to take their part in preserving the nature. Several different methods can be used to spread the information, for example preparing documentaries and showing it on popular TV channel, or disseminating broshures, booklets and other informational materials or including this topic in children’s school programs and ect. All these activities can help raising awareness about enviromental issues which will itself result in increasing recycling. Another effective way to increase recycling might be giving people some motivation. Incentive programs always work sucessfuly in promoting certain things. For example, if the government sets some award for the families who recycle the most waste, I believe it will encourage a lot of people to start recycling. Giving a good example can also be a motivator. For example a person who is popular and respected can publicly demonstrate the way home waste is recycled and explain its importance. This might also incourage others to follow his/her example. To sum up, I do not agree with an idea, that recycling should be increiased by making it a legal requirement. From my point of view, some other methods described above, can raise popularity of recycling more effectivly.