In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Today, in Britain as well as in many other parts of the world, one quite often sees senior citizens being forced to leave their homes and families to live in nursing homes with others who are in similar conditions. These centers have various expenses due to medical inventory, including special drugs required by patients, daily hygienic requirements/procedures, nutritional necessities, such as serving fresh food three times a day. I believe that such expenses need to be paid by both the government and families of the residents. The government is already responsible with paying the retirees' salaries and pensions, necessary medical procedures such as operations, optional hospital stays following such treatments, and most importantly, the medicines. Generally, as long as people work, they are officially registered for governmental insurance, which is deducted from their wages. Thus, government should take care of seniors by funding old people's homes. In addition to government support for old people, families should also provide by paying the necessary fees for their elderly, as they intend them to live in good conditions. This will allow them to be able to go to work without being worried about their elderly. Since the seniors will be taken good care of all day long with proper precautions while the nurses keep an eye on them to avoid any emergencies and doctors regularly visit them to anticipate medical emergencies or do routine checkups, their families should willingly pay the other portion of the expenses. This can also help/facilitate the management of an old people's house to arrange social activities and obtain relevant items, such as card games or chess boards. For example, when I visited my grandfather in his old home, I witnessed the management organizing various events by inviting musicians, ordering special catering services for tea-time parties, or planning board game tournaments. Therefore, for the stability of the institution of old homes, the expenses should be a shared responsibility of mostly the government and, to a smaller extent, the families. Children, grandchildren or any young family members of senior citizens must visit them in these old homes, spread the joy and care about the elders of their family.